- Janet, Mrs. McCormack, Nursery Nurse, Millbank Primary School, Westminster, London. For services to Education.
- Christopher Robin McCormick, Divisional Manager, South East First Bus Group and UK Manager for Lifelong Learning. For services to Public Transport and to Basic Skills Education.
- John Kenneth McCullagh. For public service.
- George Ferguson McDonic, Chair, Campaign to Protect Rural England (Wiltshire). For services to Conservation.
- George McGarvey, Senior Executive Officer, Health and Safety Executive.
- Robert McKenna. For services to Entertainment and to Charity.
- Margaret Elizabeth, Mrs. McKillop, Senior Nurse Manager, Rehabilitation Directorate, Southern General Hospital, Glasgow. For services to Nursing.
- Ernest Templeton McMillen, Vice-President, Pony Club. For services to Horse Riding.
- Dr. Iain McNicol, General Medical Practitioner, Appin, Argyll. For services to Healthcare.
- Michael Stuart McNidder, Head of Developmental Services, City of Worcester. For services to Local Government.
- Gerard McQuillan, Capital Taxes Manager and Secretary of the Acceptance in Lieu Panel at the Museums, Libraries and Archives Council. For services to Heritage.
- Reg Mead, President, Bucks Schools Athletics Association. For services to Athletics.
- Maria Philomena, Mrs. Mendonca, Teacher, Sacred Heart Roman Catholic School, Peterborough. For services to Education.
- Mary, Mrs. MIDDLETON. For services to the Royal British Legion in Derby.
- John Clive MILBURNE, Wildlife Inspector, Environment and Heritage Service, Department of the Environment, Northern Ireland Executive.
- Margaret Wilson, Mrs. MILLIGAN. For services to the Citizens' Advice Bureau, Coatbridge.
- Thakorbhai Mistry. For services to the community in Alconbury, Cambridgeshire.
- Miss Sheila Lilian MITCHELL, President, European Catering Association (Great Britain). For services to the Hospitality Industry.
- Herbert Inglis Mole, Chair, Horncliffe Parish Council. For services to Local Government in Berwick-upon-Tweed.
- Clive Anthony Morris, Deputy-Chair, National Black Police Association and Caretaker, Nottingham Police. For services to the Police and to the community in Nottingham.
- Evan John Morris, Public Relations Officer, Cheshire Fire Service. For services to the Fire Service.
- Miss Frances Margaret Morris. For services to the community in Tenbury Wells, Worcestershire.
- Harold Sydney Morris. For services to Community Relations in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire.
- Donald Roddy Morrison, Janitor, Lionel School, Isle of Lewis. For services to Education in Scotland.
- Miss Alison Mortimer, Administrative Officer, Child Support Agency.
- Brian Anthony Morton, Conservation Engineer. For services to Heritage.

- Adrian Moss, Grade C1, Ministry of Defence.
- Albert David Moss, Honorary Secretary, Alzheimer's Society, Swansea and Lliw Valley Branch. For services to People with Alzheimer's Disease.
- Mary, Mrs. Moss. For services to the community in Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire.
- Richard Harry Moss. For services to Young People in North London.
- Dr. Shyamal Kumar Mukherjee, Board Member, Birkenhead and Wallasey Primary Care Trust. For services to Healthcare.
- Edith Agnes, Mrs. Murphy. For services to the community in Leicestershire.
- Christopher Needs, Radio Presenter. For charitable services in Wales.
- Elizabeth, Mrs. Nells, Foster Carer. For services to Children in Belfast.
- Sydney NICHOLSON, Founder, Heart Call, South Tyneside. For services to People with Heart Disease in South Tyneside.
- Mehri, Mrs. NIKNAM. For services to Jewish-Muslim Inter-faith Relations.
- David Alasdair Nix. For services to the Donor Family Network and to the Siloan Christian Ministries.
- William Cecil, Noble. For political and public service, and for services to Education.
- Seva Levenstein-Novgorodsev, Present, BBC Russian Service. For services to Broadcasting.
- Roy Herbert NowELL, Bandmaster, 13th Coventry Scout Band. For services to Young People.
- Gillian Patricia, Mrs. Nussey. For services to the Victim Support Service in Warwickshire.
- Brigid Christina, Mrs. O'CONNOR, Senior Nurse, Royal Gwent Hospital. For services to Urology.
- Sean Michael Barry O'MEARA, Chair, Finance and Management Committee, Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents. For services to Accident Prevention.
- John Francis O'Neill, Executive Officer, Pensions Service, Department for Work and Pensions.
- Andrew Joseph O'Sullivan, B.E.M. For charitable services in Rochdale, Greater Manchester.
- Wilfred Alec OSBORN, Chair of Governors, Deacon's School, Peterborough. For services to Education.
- Elaine, Mrs. PARKER. For services to the community in Foleshill, Coventry.
- Stuart Parker. For services to the community in Foleshill, Coventry.
- Ms Angela Parks, Operational Manager, Coventry Youth Offending Service. For services to Youth Justice.
- Roger William Kew PARLBY, Editor-in-Chief and Managing Director, Newark Advertiser. For services to the Newspaper Industry and to the community in Nottinghamshire.
- John Lewis Partridge. For services to the Royal British Legion in Kent.
- David PASCOE. For services to the community in Redruth, Cornwall.
- Alice, Mrs. Pashley. For services to the community in Belton, Lincolnshire.
- Dr. Raina PATEL. For services to Healthcare in Stockport, Cheshire.
- Gillian, Mrs. Pearce, Executive Officer, Jobcentre Plus, Department for Work and Pensions.