Dr. Jennifer Louise Tonge, Member of Parliament for Richmond Park, 1997–2005. Liberal Democrat spokesman on international development, 1999–2003; for children, 2003–2004.

To be Barons:

- The Right Honourable Donald Anderson, Member of Parliament for Monmouth, 1966–1970 and Swansea East, 1974–2005. Opposition spokesman for foreign affairs, 1983–1992, on defence, 1993–1994 and Shadow Solicitor General, 1994–1995. Chairman, Foreign Affairs Select Committee, 1997–2005.
- Anthony Louis Banks, Member of Parliament for Newham North West, 1983–1997 and West Ham, 1997–2005. Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department of Culture, Media and Sport, 1997–1999.
- David William George Chidgey, Member of Parliament for Eastleigh, 1994–2005. Liberal Democrat spokesman for employment, 1994–1995; on transport, 1995–1997; trade and industry, 1997–1999.
- The Right Honourable Dr. John Anderson (Jack) CUNNINGHAM, DL, Member of Parliament for Whitehaven, 1970–1983 and Copeland 1983–2005. Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department of Energy, 1976–1979; Opposition spokesman on industry, 1979–1983; Member of the Shadow Cabinet, 1983–1995 and 1996–1997; Spokesman on the environment, 1983–1989; Shadow Leader of the House of Commons, 1989–1992; Opposition front bench Spokesman on foreign and commonwealth affairs, 1992–1994; on trade and industry, 1994–1995; on national heritage, 1995–1997; Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, 1997–1998; Minister for the Cabinet Office and Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, 1998–1999.
- The Right Honourable Derek FOSTER, DL, Member of Parliament for Bishop Auckland, 1979–2005. North Regional Whip, 1981–1982; Opposition front bench spokesman for social security, 1982–1983; Parliamentary Private Secretary to Neil Kinnock as Leader of the Opposition, 1983–1985; Opposition Chief Whip 1985–1995; Opposition front bench spokesman on the Duchy of Lancaster, 1995–1997.
- The Right Honourable George FOULKES, JP, Member of Parliament for South Ayrshire, 1979–1983 and Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley, 1983–2005. Opposition spokesman on European and Community Affairs, 1984–1985; on foreign affairs, 1985–1992; on defence, 1992–1993; on overseas development, 1994–1997. Parliamentary Under-Secretary, Department of International Development, 1997–2001; Minister of State, Scotland Office, 2001–2002.
- The Right Honourable Sir Alastair (Robertson) GOODLAD, KCMG, High Commissioner to Australia, 2000–2005. Member of Parliament for Northwich, 1974–1983 and Eddisbury, 1983–1999. Minister for State, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, 1992–1995; Parliamentary Secretary to HM Treasury and Government Chief Whip, 1995–1997; Opposition front bench spokesman on international development, 1997–1998.

- The Right Honourable Sir Archibald (Gavin) Hamilton, Member of Parliament for Epsom and Ewell, 1978–2001. Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Defence Procurement, 1986–1987; Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Prime Minister, 1987–1988; Minister of State for the Armed Forces, 1988–1993.
- The Right Honourable Alan Thomas Howarth, CBE, Member of Parliament for Stratford-upon-Avon, 1983–1997 and for Newport East, 1997–2005. Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department for Education and Science, 1989–1992; Education and Employment, 1997–1998 and at the Department of Culture, Media and Sport, 1998–2001.
- Nigel David Jones, Member of Parliament for Cheltenham, 1992–2005. Liberal Democrat spokesman on England, local government and Housing, 1992–1993; on science and technology, 1993–1999; on consumer affairs, 1995–1997; on culture, media and sport, 1997–1999; on international development, 1999–2005.
- Sir Archibald (Johnstone) KIRKWOOD, Member of Parliament for Roxburgh and Berwickshire, 1983–2005. Liberal Democrat convenor and spokesman on welfare, 1988–1992; on social security, 1992–1994 and from 1997–2001; on community care, 1994–1997; Liberal Democrat Chief Whip, 1992–1997.
- The Right Honourable Sir Nicholas (Walter) Lyell, QC, Member of Parliament for Hemel Hempstead, 1979–1983, Mid Bedfordshire, 1983–1997 and North East Bedfordshire, 1997–2001. Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department of Health and Social Security, 1986–1987; Solicitor General, 1987–1992; Attorney General, 1992–1997.
- The Right Honourable Sir Brian (Stanley) Mawhinney, Member of Parliament for Peterborough, 1979–1997, Cambridgeshire North, 1997–2005. Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, 1986–1990; Minister of State, Northern Ireland Office, 1990–1992; Minister of State, Department of Health, 1992–1994; Secretary of State for Transport, 1994–1995; Minister without Portfolio and Chairman of the Conservative Party, 1995–1997; Opposition front bench spokesman on home affairs, 1997–1998.
- Dr. Lewis George Moonie, Member of Parliament for Kirkcaldy, 1987–2005. Opposition front bench spokesman on technology, 1990–1992; on science and technology, 1992–1997; on industry, 1994–1997; Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State 2000–2003; and Minister for Veterans' Affairs, 2001–2003, Ministry of Defence.
- Martin John O'NEILL, Member of Parliament for Stirlingshire East and Clackmannan, 1979–1983, Clackmannan, 1983–1997, and Ochil, 1997–2005. Opposition spokesman on Scottish affairs, 1980–1984, on defence matters, 1984–1988; energy, 1992–1995; Chief Opposition spokesman on defence, 1988–1992.
- The Right Honourable Christopher Robert SMITH, Member of Parliament for Islington South and Finsbury, 1983–2005. Opposition spokesman on treasury and economic affairs, 1987–1992; Principal Opposition spokesman on environmental protection,