1992–1994; on national heritage, 1994–1995; on social security, 1995–1996; on health, 1996–1997; Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport, 1997–2001.

Clive Stafford Soley, Member of Parliament for Hammersmith North, 1979–1983, Hammersmith, 1983–1997 and Ealing, Acton and Shepherd's Bush, 1997-2005. Opposition front bench spokesman on Northern Ireland, 1981–1984; on home affairs, 1984-1987; on housing 1987-1992.

Dennis Turner, Member of Parliament for Wolverhampton South East, 1987–2005. Opposition Whip, 1993–1997; Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Secretary of State for International Development, 1997–2001.

Paul Archer Tyler, CBE, Member of Parliament for Bodmin, 1974, North Cornwall, 1992-2005. Liberal Democrat spokesman on agriculture and rural affairs, 1992–1997; on transport, 1994–1995; on food, 1997–1999; Liberal Democrat Chief Whip, 1997–2001; Shadow Leader of the House of Commons, 1997–2005.