- Terence Michael Grote, lately Managing Director, The Independent. For services to the Publishing Industry.
- David Leslie Grove, Chairman, West Midlands Industrial Board. For services to Business.
- Henry Grunwald, Q.C. For services to the Jewish community and to Inter-Faith Relations.
- Thomas Hanna Haire. For public and voluntary service. Nigel Hancock, Senior Manager A, Safer Custody Group, H.M. Prison Service, Ministry of Justice.
- Dr. Christopher Handy, Chief Executive, Accord Housing Group and Chairman, Walsall Housing Regeneration Agency. For services to the Housing Sector in the West Midlands.
- Dr. Robert Wallace HARLAND. For services to Sports and Exercise Medicine in Northern Ireland.
- Ann Whyte, Mrs. HARRIS, Deputy Director, Investment Management, Department for Work and Pensions.
- Margaret Mary, Mrs. HASKELL, Director of Human Resources, Avon Fire and Rescue Service. For services to Local Government.
- Ms Lynda Hassall, Head, Sure Start Children's Centre, Carlisle South. For services to Children and Families.
- Professor Gerard HASTINGS, Director, Institute of Social Marketing, and Centre for Tobacco Control Research, Stirling and The Open University. For services to Healthcare.
- Geoffrey Heath, lately Chief Executive, NCsoft Europe. For services to the Computer Games Industry.
- Professor Andrew Hurst Henderson. For services to Cardiology in Wales.
- Alan William Henry, lately Northern Ireland Civil Service Commissioner and Human Rights Commissioner. For public service.
- Alan Eric Hepper, Grade B1, Ministry of Defence.
- Marilyn, Mrs. Holness, Deputy Principal, Southlands College, Roehampton University. For services to Teacher Education.
- Susan, Mrs. HOOTON, Associate Director, Clinical Governance and Effectiveness, 5 Boroughs Partnership NHS Trust. For services to Nursing.
- Dr. Mohammed Kamal Hossain, Director, Research and International Co-operation, National Physical Laboratory. For services to Industry.
- Andrew William HOWARTH, Director of Operations, Land Registry, Ministry of Justice.
- Peter Howson. For services to the Visual Arts.
- Bernard Clement John Hughes, Chairman, Regional Management Board, Fire and Rescue Service South West. For services to Local Government.
- Dr. Robert William Gainer Hunt. For services to the Field of Colour Science and to Young People through Crusaders.
- Ms Sue Johnston, Actor. For services to Drama and to Charity.
- Brian Keith Jones, Regional Director, North West, Forestry Commission.
- Glyn Hywel Jones, Principal, Pembrokeshire College. For services to Education and to Training in Wales.
- Louis Bernard Jones, Deputy Chief Fire Officer, Northern Ireland Fire and Rescue Service. For services to Local Government.

- Ms Rhoda EMLYN JONES, Principal Officer for Substance Misuse Services, Cardiff and the Vale of Glamorgan. For services to Disadvantaged People.
- Imelda Ann, Mrs. JORDAN, Principal, St Colm's High School, Twinbrook, Belfast. For services to Education in Northern Ireland.
- Mary Helen, Mrs. Karaolis, Headteacher, The Ravenscroft School and Technology College, Barnet, London. For services to Education.
- Sister Eileen Kelleher, lately Chair of Council and Pro-Chancellor, Liverpool Hope University. For voluntary service to Education.
- Andrew KILPATRICK, lately Headteacher, Northumberland Park Community School, Haringey, London. For services to Education.
- Professor Terence Robert James Lappin, Professor of Haematology, Queen's University Belfast. For services to Medicine.
- Fiona, Mrs. LARDEN, Principal, Fircroft College, Birmingham. For services to Adult Education.
- Richard James Vincent Larn. For services to Nautical Archaeology and Marine Heritage.
- James Victor Lawlor, Deputy Director with Detection, London, UK Border Agency, H.M. Revenue and Customs. For public and voluntary service.
- Ms Anne Marie Ledger. For services to Asylum Seekers and Refugees.
- Dr. Aileen Lee. For services to Veterinary Medicine, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.
- Professor Gwyneth Helen Lewis, National Lead for Maternal Health and Maternity Services, Department of Health.
- Colin LIDDELL, Director, Liddell Thomson. For services to Business and to Charity in Scotland.
- Brian Martin Lomax, Chairman, Supporters' Direct. For services to Football.
- Ms Jennifer Lomax. Director, Camden Arts Centre. For services to the Visual Arts.
- Ms Fiona MacCarthy, Biographer and Cultural Historian. For services to Literature.
- Angus MacDonald, Director, Financial News and Chairman, Specialist Waste Recycling. For services to the community in the Highlands.
- Hugh Millar MacDonald, Assistant Director, Apprenticeship Unit, Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills.
- Ms Ann Macfarlane, M.B.E. For services to Disabled People.
- John Learmonth MacLellan, Senior User, MOT Computerisation, Vehicle and Operator Services Agency, Department for Transport.
- Dr. Linda MAGEE. For services to the Biotechnology Industry.
- Margaret Fay, Mrs. Mansell, Chair, National Federation of Women's Institutes. For services to Women.
- Richard Mawer. For services to Save the Children UK. Morrison McAllister, lately Director, Food Standards Agency, Northern Ireland.
- Dennis Norman McAuley, Principal Scientific Officer, Forensic Science Northern Ireland. For public and voluntary service.
- Miss Gracia Mary McGrath, Chief Executive, Chance UK. For services to Children with Special Needs.