- Dr. John Richard SHORTLAND, Commander, South and West Yorkshire. For voluntary service to the St. John Ambulance Brigade.
- Brian Paul Shrubsall, Grade B2, Ministry of Defence.
- Dr. Caroline Mary Shuldham, Director of Nursing, Governance and Informatics, Brompton Hospital and Harefield NHS Trust. For services to Healthcare.
- Colin Brian SIMKINS, Lead Consultant Headteacher, Specialist Schools and Academies Trust and lately Headteacher, Hodgson School, Lancashire. For services to local and national Education.
- Councillor John Hyde Smith. For voluntary service to the community in Evesham, Worcestershire.
- Michael Lynas Smith. For services to People with Disabilities.
- Ronald Smith, General-Secretary, Educational Institute of Scotland. For services to Education.
- Stuart Graham Smith, lately President, Lawn Tennis Association. For services to Sport.
- Sylvia Mary, Mrs. Smith, President, National Association of Swimming Clubs for People with Disabilities.
- Douglas Squires, Choreographer and Director. For services to the Performing Arts.
- Allan Stewart, Principal, Selby College, North Yorkshire. For services to local and national Further Education.
- David George Hovenden STEWART, Chairman, North East Rural Affairs Forum. For services to the Environment.
- Roger Stone, Leader, Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council. For services to Local Government.
- David Lewis Summers, J.P. For public and charitable service.
- Peter Swingler, Benefit Delivery Centre Manager, Jobcentre Plus, Department for Work and Pensions. For public and voluntary service in the North West.
- Professor Katharine Ellen SYKES, Professor of Sciences and Society, University of Bristol. For services to Science and Technology.
- Peter William SYME, Director, The Open University in Scotland. For services to Higher Education.
- Ilana Antoinette, Mrs. TAHAN, Head of Hebrew Collections, The British Library. For services to Scholarship.
- Ms Virginia TANDY, Director of Culture, Manchester City Council. For services to the Arts.
- Peter Rowland Taylor. For services to the Tyre Industry. Peter THACKWRAY. For services to Small Businesses in London and to International Trade.
- George David Thompson, Business Development Director, BVT Surface Fleet Ltd. For services to the Shipbuilding Industry.
- Professor Tamar THOMPSON, Independent Health Service Adviser. For services to Healthcare.
- Robert Torrens. For services to Cricket and Football in Northern Ireland.
- Ms Jane Elizabeth Tozer, M.B.E. For public and voluntary service.
- Leonard Tyler, Chief Executive Officer, EADS Defence and Security Systems Ltd. For services to the Defence Industry.
- Professor Denis Wesley VERNON, Head of Podiatry Services and Research Lead, Sheffield Primary Care Trust. For services to Healthcare.

- Geoffrey Harold Walker, Matron, Medical Wards and Departments, Poole Hospital NHS Foundation Trust. For services to Healthcare.
- David Ogilvie Maclogan Wedderburn, Chairman, Building Standards Advisory Committee. For services to the Construction Industry.
- William James WILKINSON, Chief Executive and Treasurer, South Yorkshire Police Authority. For public service.
- Billy WILLIAMS, Cinematographer. For services to the Film Industry.
- Professor Clyde WILLIAMS, Professor of Sports Science, Loughborough University. For services to Sports Science.
- Frederick George WILSON. For services to Entrepreneurship and to Engineering.
- Malcolm Irving Wilson, Managing Director, M-Sport and Team Director, Ford World Rally Team. For services to the Motorsport Industry.
- Simon WINTERS, Charity Consultant. For services to the Voluntary Sector.
- Andrew William Lewis Wolstenholme, Director, Capital Projects, British Airports Authority. For services to the Construction Industry.
- Miss Zena Jane WOOLDRIDGE, Director of Sport, University of Birmingham and Chair, England Squash. For services to Sport.
- Robert Andrew Woolley, Manager, Debt Relief Order Unit, Department for Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform. For public and voluntary service.
- John YELLAND. For voluntary service to the community in Worcester.
- Anthony Yorke, National Manager, Paralympic Cycling Team. For services to Sport.

M.B.E.

- To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:
- Anna Elizabeth, Mrs. Adair. For voluntary service to Animal Welfare in North Wales.
- Ms Wendy Adams. For services to People with Learning Disabilities in Lincolnshire.
- Dotun Adebayo, Broadcaster and Publisher. For services to the Arts.
- Jamila, Mrs. Aftab. For services to the community in St. Paul's, Bristol.
- Ashuk Ahmed. For services to Young People.
- Isabel, Mrs. AIKEN. For services to the community in Kendal, Cumbria.
- Adam Alexander, Senior Development Manager, Oaklee Housing Association Ltd. For services to Social Housing in Northern Ireland.
- Richard Thomas Allan. For voluntary service to the community in Kelso, Roxburgh.
- Ms Dorothy Jane Allen, lately Head, Library and Heritage Services, Wandsworth Council. For services to Local Government in South West London.
- Patricia, Mrs. Allen. For voluntary service to Disabled People in Cumbria.
- Caroline Anne, Mrs. Anderson. For services to the Tourist Industry in the Forest of Dean and Wye Valley.
- Raymond Foster Anderson. For services to Business and to the community in Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Tyne and