- Dr. Raymond Stuart Kelvin, Founder and Chief Executive, Ted Baker. For services to the Fashion Industry.
- Anthony Denis Kennan, O.B.E., Chairman, Multiple Sclerosis Society. For services to Healthcare.
- George KERR. For services to Judo.
- Professor Ronald Alfred LASKEY, lately Professor of Embryology, University of Cambridge and lately Director, Medical Research Council Cancer Cell Unit. For services to Science.
- John Hardress Wilfred LLOYD, Radio and Television Producer. For services to Broadcasting.
- Ms Rosalynde Lowe, Chair, Queen's Nursing Institute. For services to Healthcare.
- Christopher Colin MacLehose. For services to the Publishing Industry.
- Wayne McGregor, Choreographer. For services to Dance.
- Professor Quintin McKellar, Principal, Royal Veterinary College. For services to Science.
- Steve Rodney McQueen, O.B.E. For services to the Visual Arts.
- Jonathan Edward Moor, Director, Aviation Directorate, Department for Transport.
- Robert Stewart Napier, Chairman, Homes and Communities Agency and the Met Office. For public service.
- Nigel Thomas Newcomen, Deputy Chief Inspector of Prisons. For public service.
- Simon Norris, Deputy Director, Central Policy, London, H.M. Revenue and Customs.
- Michael John Oglesby. For services to Business and to Charity in the North West.
- Hamish Macgregor Ogston, Non-Executive Director, CCP Group plc. For services to Business and to the community in York.
- Michael Antonio Parker, Chairman, King's College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust. For services to the NHS.
- Dr. Richard Newton Parker, lately Principal, Chichester College. For services to local and national Further Education.
- Giles Dominic St. Richard Pegram, lately Director of Fundraising, NSPCC. For services to the Voluntary Sector.
- The Honourable Philip John REMNANT. For services to the Financial Services Industry and to the Public Sector.
- Robert Nigel RICKETTS, Director, System Management and New Enterprise, Department of Health.
- Diane Mary, Mrs. ROBERTS, Principal, Brockenhurst College, Hampshire. For services to Further Education.
- Dr. John Anthony Roberts, Q.C., D.L. For services to the Administration of Justice, Diversity and to Equal Opportunities.
- Ms Amanda Rowlatt, Director of Analysis and Child Poverty, Employment Group, Department for Work and Pensions.
- Dr. Sheila Joan Shribman, National Clinical Director for Children, Young People and Maternity, London. For services to Medicine.
- Dr. Ambrose Joseph Smith, Principal, Aquinas Sixth Form College, Stockport. For services to local and national Education.

- Carole Lesley, Mrs. SOUTER, Chief Executive, National Heritage Memorial Fund and Heritage Lottery Fund. For services to Conservation.
- Ms Katrine Sporle, Chief Executive, Planning Inspectorate, Department for Communities and Local Government.
- David Suchet, O.B.E., Actor. For services to Drama.
- Alastair John Sykes, lately Chairman and Chief Executive, Nestlé UK. For services to the Food Industry.
- Museji Ahmed Takolia. For services to Diversity and to Equal Opportunities.
- Ann, Mrs. Tate, lately Vice-Chancellor, University of Northampton. For services to Higher Education.
- Sheila Margaret, Mrs. TAYLOR, Headteacher, Annette Street Primary School, Glasgow. For services to local and national Education in Scotland.
- Ms Sara Joanne THORNTON, Q.P.M., Chief Constable, Thames Valley Police. For services to the Police.
- Arthur Torrington, O.B.E., Co-Founder, Equiano Society. For services to Black British Heritage.
- Professor Nicholas Tyler, Head of Department and Chadwick Professor of Civil Engineering, University College London. For services to Technology.
- Ms Janet VITMAYER, Chief Executive and Director, Horniman Museum. For services to Museums.
- Professor John Williamson Wallace, O.B.E., Principal, Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama. For services to Dance, Music and Drama Education in Scotland.
- Alison Jane, Mrs. Ward, Chief Executive, Torfaen County Borough Council. For services to Local Government.
- Richard Wentworth, Sculptor. For services to Art.
- The Right Reverend Martin Wharton. For services to the Church of England and to the community in the North East.
- Graham Clive White, Director, International Energy and Technology, Department of Energy and Climate Change.
- Brian Paul WHITTAKER, Chief Crown Prosecutor, Merseyside and Chairman, Cheshire and Mersey Group, Crown Prosecution Service.
- Tom WILLIAMS, Executive Vice-President of Programmes, Airbus SAS. For services to the Aerospace Industry.
- Dr. David Wilson, Philanthropist. For services to Young People.
- Roger Leslie Wilson, Founder, Sarcoma UK Charity. For services to Healthcare.

O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

- Sarah, Mrs. AARONSON. For services to Music and to Charity.
- John David Adams, General-Secretary, Voluntary Organisations Disability Group. For services to Social Care.
- Charubala, Mrs. AINSCOUGH, Founder and Chair, Sahara Project. For services to Black and Minority Ethnic People in Lancashire.
- Councillor Nasim ALI, London Borough of Camden. For services to Local Government.